The Southeastern Conference announced the yearly softball awards and All-SEC teams on Tuesday.  Not surprisingly, Florida is well represented in both categories.  

Florida head coach Tim Walton was named the SEC Coach of the Year after guiding the Gators to a 50-5 overall record and a 20-3 SEC record.  Florida finished 3.5 games ahead of Auburn and Tennessee in the final standings.  Walton now has a record of 658-132 at the school. 

Florida right-handed pitcher Kelly Barnhill was the obvious choice for SEC Pitcher of the Year. Barnhill had a nation leading ERA of 0.33 while accumulating a 22-1 record in the circle.  Barnhill was SEC Pitcher of the Week five times and is a finalist for National Player of the Year.  

Six Gators players were named to the All-SEC First Team:

  • Barnhill (22-1, 0.33 ERA, 278 K)
  • Nicole Dewitt (.340 BA, 5 HR, 35 RBI)
  • Delanie Gourley (18-3, 0.80 ERA, 191 K)
  • Kayli Kvistad (.390 BA, 7 HR, 47 RBI)
  • Amanda Lorenz (.381 BA, 9 HR, 36 RBI)
  • Aleshia Ocasio (.315 BA, 2 HR, 24 RBI, 11 SB, 8-1 record 1.17 ERA)

Justine McLean was named to the All-SEC second team after hitting .302 with 14 RBIs.  McLean led the Gators with 15 stolen bases.  

Sophia Reynoso was included on the SEC All-Freshmen roster.  Reynoso hit .310 for the Gators while hitting two home runs and driving in 23 rbi.  

In addition to being named to the first team, Dewitt was also named to the SEC All-Defensive team. Dewitt had a .984 fielding percentage and only made two errors all season. 

The SEC Tournament begins Wednesday.  Florida received a first round bye as the #1 seed. The Gators will face the winner of Mississippi and Mississippi State Thursday afternoon. 

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: