University of Florida head lacrosse coach Amanda O’Leary was named a 2018 Tewaaraton Legend by the Tewaaraton Foundation on Friday.

O’Leary, who was a four year starter for Temple University’s lacrosse and field hockey programs, led the 1988 Owls to an undefeated National Championship season and was named the Lacrosse Magazine’s Player of the Year.

O’Leary is the only coach in Florida lacrosse history after spending fourteen seasons as head coach at Yale. O’Leary has compiled 121 wins with the Gators since 2011.

O’Leary was inducted into the US Lacrosse National Hall of Fame in 2005, and was previously inducted into the Temple Owls Hall of Fame (2004).

The Tewaaraton Legend Award annually honors players whose play would have earned the prestigious trophy prior to 2001, when the Tewaaraton Award was introduced. The Tewaaraton Award is the equivalent of the Heisman Trophy in football.

The Gators open their season on February 11 with a home contest against Colorado. The match is set to begin at 12:00 PM.

*Information for this article was provided by the official UF lacrosse press release.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: