The Southeastern Conference announced it’s yearly awards on Sunday. Despite a disappointing season record-wise, the Gators were represented on the All-Conference first team by senior midfielder Lais Araujo.

Araujo led Florida in scoring with five goals and thirteen total points.

Araujo recorded a first half hat-trick at Kentucky in September and earned the SEC’s Offensive Player of the Week for her efforts.

Florida opened the SEC Tournament on Sunday with a thrilling victory over Auburn. The Gators will face #1 seed Vanderbilt on Tuesday at 6:00 PM, with a chance to bolster their NCAA Tournament resume.

First Team All-SEC
Forward: Sarah Luebbert, Missouri
Forward: Bunny Shaw, Tennessee
Forward: Ally Watt, Texas A&M
Forward: Haley Hopkins, Vanderbilt
Midfielder: Bri Folds, Auburn
Midfielder: Lais Araujo, Florida
Midfielder: CeCe Kizer, Ole Miss
Midfielder: Katie Cousins, Tennessee
Defender: Haley VanFossen, Arkansas
Defender: Lucy Parker, LSU
Defender: Maya Neal, Tennessee
Defender: Grace Fisk, South Carolina
Goalkeeper: Mikayla Kreczowski, South Carolina
At-Large: Grace Jackson, Vanderbilt

Leave a Reply