India, Singer, Schwarz, and Byrne also named to All-SEC First Team

SEC Coach of the Year, Kevin O’Sullivan (Per Getty Images)

Florida Gators head coach Kevin O’Sullivan has done a masterful job of keeping his team focused as they attempt to defend last season’s national championship.

On Monday the SEC announced the 2018 award receipients and, not surprisingly, Florida was well represented.

O’Sullivan was named the SEC Coach of the Year while his ace pitcher, Brady Singer earned SEC Pitcher of the Year. Third baseman Jonathan India was named the SEC Player of the Year.

In 11 years at the helm of the program, O’Sullivan has guided Florida to a 489-223 record, including this year’s 41-15 mark. O’Sullivan was the 2011 Baseball America College Coach of the year and the 2017 consensus National Coach of the Year. This marks the third time O’Sullivan has been named the conference coach of the year (2010, 2014).

SEC Pitcher of the Year, Brady Singer (Per Getty Images)

Brady Singer has served as the Gators ace and is the usual Friday night arm for Florida. Singer has a 10-1 record in 13 starts this season. He has compiled 92 strikeouts to 18 walks in 88 innings of work. He has one complete game and opponents have only hit at a .186 clip against him. Singer is the third Gators pitcher to earn the SEC Pitcher of the Year award.

SEC Player of the Year, Jonathan India (Per Getty Images)

Jonathan India earned the SEC Player of the Year honor backed by a strong .365 average to go along with an on-base percentage of .506 and a slugging percentage of .730. India played 54 games and slugged 16 homers and drove in 40 RBI. India is the third Florida player named SEC Player of the Year, however Matt LaPorta earned the honor twice. India was also named to the SEC All-Defensive Team, the only Gator to be named.

In addition to Singer and India, JJ Schwarz and Michael Byrne earned First Team All-SEC honors while Jackson Kowar and Wil Dalton earned Second Team All-SEC recognition.

One thought on “BSB: O’Sullivan, India, Singer earn SEC yearly honors”

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: